(TCM-SEC)Practical Ethical Hacking Review

Siddharth Johri
3 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Hiya peeps,

First off, I am a 18 year old, so I am probably a little more hyped than a normal person in general, so chill.

Secondly, I consider myself in a transition state between beginner and novice/amateur in hacking. My review is from the point of view of a first time exposure to formal ethical hacking training.

This course was the first course I ever did and I got it when The Cyber Mentor gave it away for free for three days in November 2020. As it did not have any criteria for clearance apart from the videos completion progress, I was not so hyped about it. But when I started, it was eye-opening.

I was doing a little HackTheBox and TryHackMe before starting this course and was pretty happy with my progress, but boy was I wrong.

I had not even touched the surface of “hacking”. This course not only gave me a lot of consolidated and structured information, but Heath’s words stuck with me. His approach towards all the machines in the capstone made me discover my own pentesting methodology.

TCM-SEC’s PEH has a lot of information, but more than that, the fact that it is constantly updated and has a lot of outside resources which a learner can explore further made this course like an initiation of a video-game. Heath gives the “basic instructions”, explains the “controls” and shows the “path to start”. After that its your own adventure.

After completing PEH, I did INE’s PTS , it took me less than a week to cover. Considering how PEH was 25 hours and took me more than a month whereas PTS was 40 hours long, I could actually see my progress.

I gave eJPT right after completing PTS and I cleared it within 6.5-ish hours of lab time and 11hours in total.

On the whole, I feel that PEH is not only super dope for people on their zero-to-hero journey, but its also acts as a really good base for people who want to formally start off with hacking.

His Active Directory Portion is really really good. Making a local domain/lab is an experience Ifeel everyone should have at least once.

I accredit all my progress since PEH to Heath.

PEH was an amazing journey. I still refer the notes I made during the course and they are still quite handy.

Lastly, if it wasn’t for the fact that PEH was free for a bit, I would have never done it, but if you are trying to start off, its the best thing you can start off with. TCM-SEC is still in progress of making a huge name in the academia portion of pen-testing but my personal opinion says, its gonna be one of the major players soon.

Have a safe, happy and amazing hacking journey. Later!

--

--